Family

Low-Carb Pizza Crust Review

I recently joined a low-carb Facebook group and this group is VERY resourceful and so I found a few posts giving crust ideas that are low in carbs and so I decide on a recipe, made with cream cheese and eggs.  I personally LOVE cream cheese and I figured, how can one go wrong.

Recipe

The crust is VERY easy to make and this recipe is on NUMEROUS low-carb recipe sites:

  • 1 (8 oz) package of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions

Preheat oven to 375.

Lightly spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. With a mixer, mix cream cheese, eggs, pepper, garlic powder and parmesan cheese until combined. Spread into baking dish or pan.  I used a round pizza pan and poured it right into the center so that it spread out OR you could put it into a square pan to have a square pizza.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown.
Top with pizza sauce and toppings and bake 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted.

We put sausage, mushroom, green pepper, onion and mozzarella on our pizzas and the end result looked like a normal homemade pizza.  The crust held up well and we found it was better to let it cool for just a bit before putting a piece on your plate so that it was a firmer crust.

The Review

20180127_205803

Taste:  This is where Kevin and I agreed to disagree.  He DEVOURED his entire pizza people, ENTIRE!  I, on the other hand, ate two pieces and decided this was not the crust for me and proceeded to take ALL the toppings of the cream cheese crust and just ate those, which as I’m sure you can imagine, was still really good and cured my pizza craving.

Kevin said it was a good alternative and said it tasted like normal pizza that you would make homemade.  I could taste the cream cheese base and it was just too “soft” of a texture for me – I wanted something that was firm and tasted more like bread.

Verdict:  I’ll keep looking for another crust to make.

Leave a comment