Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

braceletGrandma’s Bracelet

The definition of nostalgic is a bittersweet longing for things, persons, or situations of the past or the condition of being homesick; homesickness.  This bracelet was my grandmother’s and when she passed away, I was able to keep it.  It has a charm for each of her four sons, as well as her grandchildren.  The second to the right charm, the head, that’s me.

And oh how I miss my grandmother horribly.  I remember running down the alley to her home when I was a kid.  Spending countless hours sitting around her kitchen table as she cooked.  She was a second mom to me.  I can still remember to this day, how she smelled.  She passed away 6-1/2 years ago while I was pregnant with my daughter, Isabella.  And I think she passed away and passed on to Isabella her personality — she’s fiesty and sassy, just like my grandmother was.  There are certain days I want to scream and then there are certain days, I smile, seeing this trait in my daughter.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

Leave a Reply

