Paying it Forward

A friend of mine had a post on Facebook that read:
Pay it forward 2012. I promise to make something handmade for the first five people who comment. They must in turn post this and make something for the first five who comment on their status. *The rules are it must be handmade by you, and they must receive it before 2012 ends. It can be something as simple as making a friend a cup of coffee. Ready…….Go! If you are not local, please send me your address in a private message. *Don’t respond if you won’t participate please, it’s not fair to those who will follow. 

I decided to take the challenge and I posted the above paragraph as my status and I was pleasantly surprised to receive 5 responses in less than 4 hours.  My thinking is that when I’m not taking care of life’s to-do list, I usually always have something in my hands that I’m knitting and I consider myself pretty crafty as well as someone that can bake a mean banana bread. This is a cakewalk…seriously, it’s 5 people—that’s about 2.5 months to plan ONE simple act of kindness.  Bake a loaf of bread.  Knit a scarf.  Buy them a can of their favorite soda.  I got this one, I can DO THIS!

So my challenge to you is not to go and paste this as your Facebook status, unless you really want too, which in that case, that’s great!  But my challenge is for you to think of 5 people in your life, at work, church, the lady at the post office or your children’s school or daycare, that you know a simple act of kindness would brighten their day in 2012.  It’s still January, which means you have 19 more days to plan your resolutions — what a great one this would be!

2 thoughts on “Paying it Forward

Leave a Reply

