Rain, Rain, don’t go away!

This past weekend, we took the family over to the local splash park  (see picture below) where we let the kids play freely for a couple of hours running amidst all the water and squirt machines.  They had a blast and it was fun to watch them just playing with no other worries.  As I sat there, and saw them and numerous amounts of other children playing among all this water, I couldn’t help but think how fortunate we are.

As mine are literally running through water, others on the other side of the world are dying for it.  Many of you may or may not have seen the stories about the drought in Africa right now but they are having its worst drought in over 60 years.  It’s a wretched situation and you can read more about it here.

I watched a news story and they were interviewing a widowed woman who had been traveling for days with 5 children in hopes of better land, food and water. One of the young boys with her was one that she picked up along the way because his parents had literally died as they traveled and so she took him in as her own. I can’t even fathom the idea of leaving everything I own and setting out with my own four children, nevertheless taking in more, with hopes, not facts, that I’ll find food and water.  It made me ask myself if I could be strong enough to do the same as she did?  Could I?

My family, we are NOT wealthy.  Hubby is still not working, as he hasn’t been able to find an ample paying job right now to cover any type of daycare expenses and bring home a profit on over two years after being laid off.  Things are tight, VERY tight, as we literally live paycheck-to-paycheck, and there are some nights I look in the cupboard and think what am I going to fix these kids? But I somehow always manage to pull a meal together and our bellies are always full.  We are fortunate that we have a roof over our heads that keeps us cool during the summer and warm during the winter. I’m able to fill my watering can FULL of WATER, and think nothing of it, so that I may water the flowers on the porch to stay colorful so that our home has an inviting feel to it from the outside.

And so, it breaks my heart to see the images of the malnutritioned children, because of lack of water, and know that here in my poverished bit of the world, I can do nothing except pray for these individuals.  When I start feeling sorry for myself, letting thoughts creep into my head that we don’t have the newest phones, the trendiest clothes or a large home, I see and read a story like this one and it puts everything in to perspective for me — that I am truly blessed with abundance!  Compared to a great deal of people in this world, my cup is overflowing. I believe that prayer does have a copious amount of power to it and that God hears our cries for individuals in need.  It’s a simple step that can do so much.

3 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, don’t go away!

  1. so proud of you for your wonderful insights and reminding everyone how life is just precious and not to worry about what you don’t have and to be thankful for what you have,,,,and that is life. I’m proud that you can express our story so that we can help those appreciate their lives a bit better. Way to go baby. 🙂

  2. yes, did see that report on tv Beth. Will say it again..& again…YOU have been given a gift ~ your words are beautiful ~ every time you write.

  3. I sure hope that woman found water. It is things like this that make us feel so helpless, and even “spoiled”. WordPress’s prompt about describing your dream home got me thinking in similar lines. Maybe you would like to check it out: My Dream Home.

    I found your blog through a link on this week’s Photo Challenge, and I am definitely enjoying it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

