How to Make Simple Salsa

Hubby doesn’t do salsa due to an allergy to tomatoes and so I get to experiment when I make salsa because it’s ALL for ME!   The following recipe is one I ALWAYS come back to and love it over about any store-bought one I can find.  Trust me, I’ve made the salsa recipes given by Emeril and Martha and yes, they are good, but at the end of the day, I’m just as happy with this recipe because it tastes super fresh, it’s super simple and it’s super easy to make.  Ready?…go get your pen and paper because I’m not sure if you can remember this one!

1 Can of Diced Tomatoes, drained and rinsed off
1 Bunch of Cilantro, chopped, adding however much you like for flavor
1 Red Onion, finely chopped, adding however much you like for flavor
Mix this all together and chill in the refrigerator.

Now, if you like a bit or a lot of kick in your salsa, you’ll want to add your jalapeno or hot sauce, but I’m a mild kinda gal and think this tastes great as is.

Why canned tomatoes? Because the economy is tough and tomatoes are expensive by the pound!  I got this huge can for $1.25. I don’t like the tomato “paste” that it’s in the can and is why I drain and rinse the tomatoes off in a colander before putting in the dish.

And here’s the result…garden goodness.  I could seriously stand at the kitchen counter and eat this with chips until it’s gone and I’m sick to my stomach.  Enjoy and happy eating!

5 thoughts on “How to Make Simple Salsa

  1. Looks delicious! We make salsa like this, adding some lime juice and salt to it too! Stopping by from Meditations for the Heart, thanks for following my blog! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

