Mmmm…Mmmm…Monday!

This recipe is so wonderful that I just had to share it.  This is Blackberry (although I used blueberry) Cobbler from The Pioneer Woman’s website and her new cookbook, The Pioneer Woman Cooks.  I let my neighbor borrow my copy and she  made this cobbler with blackberries and said it was wonderfully delicious.  I had two pints of fresh blueberries on hand and so it was obvious I would try it with these.

The purpose in my making this was I was going to a girl’s night, which for us, is an excuse to gather at a friend’s house and spend the evening eating and talking all things girly (which is just absolute heaven in my opinion) but at the same time, it’s also a time to show off new recipes and get new ones!  You know you’ve got a winner when you get asked for the recipe, which this particular night, I did!   (One girlfriend made The Pioneer Woman’s salsa…I’ve got to look that one up next!)

Pioneer Woman’s Blackberry/Blueberry Cobbler
Makes 6-8 servings

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 1/4 cup sugar
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole milk
2 cups fresh or frozen blackberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a 3-quart baking dish with butter (although I cheated and used Pam spray).

In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup of the sugar and the flour. Add the milk and combine. Add the melted butter and whisk until smooth. Pour the batter into the greased baking dish. Yes, that’s right — pour the batter in first.  You now can scatter the top with all of the berries.

Bake for approximately 1 hour or until edges are crispy. When 10 minutes remain of cooking time, sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup sugar.

Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream, or both.

The wonderful creation before going in to the oven…

The wonderful creation coming out of the oven…

The wonderful creation after my taking a big bite….

What I like about this recipe is that it’s not runny like some cobblers can be…it has a little bit of a cake texture to it mixed in with the natural goo-iness of the blueberries. My husband said it reminded him of a flat blueberry muffin.

Rating:  10 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

