Catching up!

I admit, I’m slacking in writing in my blog but since Easter, it’s been a very busy week and a half!  The kids were on spring break last week and then we decided to go to Chicago for a couple of days just to “get away” and give the kids a change of scenery.  We went to LegoLand in Schaumburg, stayed in a hotel with a Waterpark for the kids and then of course, went in to the city and went shopping!  The weather cooperated and it was a beautiful day in the city!

I also started back full-time at my job last week which is a HUGE blessing — just as we come to the end of Kevin’s unemployment, I started back full-time and what a difference one day’s pay each week can make in a paycheck! God has certainly blessed us and His timing is impeccable!

This week, I’m currently keeping myself busy by making a “coupon” organizer. I’ve always used coupons and had my little purse organizer that I’ve kept coupons in.  I’ve taken advantage of the extra care bucks at CVS and have scored some great deals in my day.  BUT…because hubby is still unemployed, I need to become on of those women who you see highlighted on the news who bought $90 worth of groceries but saved $75 by using coupons!  No.  Seriously.  I NEED HAVE TO  become one of those women.  I went and invested a bit of money (to save money) and bought a zip binder, baseball card sleeves to put the coupons in, and dividers.  I plan to work on this for the remainder of the week.  I have a list of blogs and websites I plan to scour through and get together as many tips and ideas as I can so that I can save, save, save!  When I get this together, I’ll post a pic!

What I can’t believe is that school will be out in 6-1/2 weeks!  Where has the time gone?  It seems just like yesterday I was sending my youngest son off to kindergarten and now he’s almost done with his first year.  I’m not sure what we’ll do to keep the kids busy this something but I’m sure we’ll come up with something.  I’ve started a list of weekend ideas and one-tank getaway ideas just so we can get out and about.

I’ve started reading another book…”Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World“. This has been one that I’ve been wanting to read for a while now and finally remembered to put a hold on it at the library .  It finally came in after weeks of waiting and I’m 2 chapters in and oh, how I can relate to what this author is writing.  But, I won’t say anymore and I’ll offer my review after I finish.

So that’s it in a nutshell, nothing exciting that’s been occupying my time other than life!  What has everyone else been up to?

One thought on “Catching up!

Leave a Reply

