Back to the Grind

Today I came back to work.  It’s bittersweet. While I enjoy getting back in to a routine that I’ve known all of my adult life, I am sad to leave my kiddos behind at home.  They are safe.  They are in the comfort of our own home.  They’re happy and with my hubby. But…

I used to say in younger years that I was so glad that I worked outside the home because I was a better mother by doing so.  And I truly still do believe that in those years, I was right.  But it’s come in full circle now because I know believe I’m a better mother by staying at home and not working.  I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy my job or working, I do…it’s something that’s mine. But, in the short six weeks I was at home, I realized that I truly enjoyed being at home with Isabella and Evelyn, getting Caden mid-day after kindergarten and greeting Samuel when get came in the door after school.  I’ve enjoyed doing the dishes, the grocery shopping and yes, even the laundry.  I was enjoying being a mom full-time.

But for now, I’ll make the best of it.  I am extremely thankful that I still have a job in this economy.  I work at a company that allows me to have some flexibility when I need to leave to get things done with my family or come in late because of snow delays or other circumstances.  I have it good and I realize that.

Still, a girl can dream. One of these days.  Maybe I’ll get the opportunity.

One thought on “Back to the Grind

Leave a Reply

