Bread Dough, Step 3

The science experiment continues! I’m now on step 3 of the whole homemade sourdough bread from a “starter”. Step 2 was just the “feeding” of the starter, which I did this morning, and then I let it set out all day at room temperature. Tonight, I seperated my starter and put one cup of the starter in a bowl and the other back in the fridge, which I’ll use to make additional bread loaves and rolls. So to the cup I put in a bowl, I added oil, salt, water and flour. I am to leave it out all night to “rise” and then in the morning, divide it in to 2 or 3 parts to rise again tomorrow during the day and then tomorrow night, hopefully be able to bake a loaf of bread and cinammon rolls!

This has been an interesting process because I was “supposed” to do all this on Saturday night but the day just got away from me. I had “fed” the original starter Saturday morning and let it sit out all day as instructed but then by the time Saturday night came, I was just too tired! I put it all back in the fridge, which gave me a HUGE starter jar! So this morning, I split the original starter, fed it and gave half of it to my neighbor.

Stay tuned tomorrow night…hopefully I’ll be posting pictures of yummy bread and rolls!

One thought on “Bread Dough, Step 3

  1. My grandma used to use a starter like this for baking, except she named it Herman. I think she named it since you develop quite a relationship with all of the work you have to do with it! 😉 It made great bread and rolls though.

Leave a Reply

